OPI Designer Series: Extravagance #NOTD

I’ve been missing out.  I keep passing up the OPI Designer Series because I tell myself they’re too expensive.  A regular OPI is $8, and an OPI DS is $12.  That’s a 50% increase in price for what?  Some sparkles?  BAH!

It’s silly, though, because I’ve handed over $14 for Illamasqua or BUTTER London, and more for other specialty polishes.  So why this ridiculous policy about the DS collection?  I’ve been irrational, people.  Irrational.  Especially now that I’ve finally bought one and seen what I’ve been missing.

Extravagance ECU

Extravagance extreme close-up!  2 coats with 1 coat of Seche Vite.

This is Extravagance, a deep berry tone that’s riddled with breathtaking scattered holo particles.  I don’t know what’s in this formula, but it’s nothing short of magic.  It catches light like nothing I’ve ever seen before.  If you were in a pitch black room, inside a sensory deprivation chamber, inside a bunker, suspended in an underground cave at the center of the earth, this polish would still sparkle with fire.  LITERALLY.

It’s so amazing that I want to shout angrily at my hands.  “SHUT UP, HANDS!  HOW DARE YOU SPARKLE LIKE THAT!”  Needless to say it has jumped to the top of my list of most favorite polishes.

Even in soft incandescent light it shimmers like fire.  The scattered holo is amazing, and I say this as as a linear holo snob.

Extravagance Iron Man

Two coats of OPI’s DS Extravagance with one coat of Seche Vite. Appropriately holding Iron Man because this stuff has worn like it’s indestructable.

It wears like a champ, too.  I painted my nails on Saturday and as of Tuesday afternoon I’m only just beginning to show some tip wear.  And that includes lots of house cleaning and child bathing and all that good stuff that usually destroys manis.

Extravagance Sun

Sun has been hard to come by lately, or at least enough of it for a good shot of reflective particles. This is day 2 after a full house cleaning with no gloves. Looks brand new!

ds extravagance in motion lamp

Extravagance holo shimmer in motion under halogen lighting.

ds extravagance in motion sun

Extravagance holo shimmer in motion in sunlight.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on November 6, 2012, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Ooooh, that’s so pretty. I need it.

  2. Love the animated gifs to show the sparkle!

Leave a Reply

