Instagramming, not WordPressing

Where have I been lately? Not blogging, that’s for sure. I’ve transitioned to using Instagram for mani photos. It’s easier for posting a single photo without a lot of publishing effort.  Consider this blog on hold until I find a way to do a more efficient single-push publishing method.

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on May 5, 2013, in Misc and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I just quit biting my nails and I notice that the nail bed is significantly shorter than it should be. In the before photo of your nails it is how my nails currently are. How long did it take for your nails to become strong and healthy as they appear in the 2nd (after) photo?

    • It takes a long time for your nail bed to correct. My nail beds look mostly neat now, and I would say it took the better part of a year for most of them to start looking normal. I probably noticed around the year and a half mark that they looked normal enough that I could go without polish and not be self-conscious.

      If you’re like me, you spent years mangling your nails. It takes time and patience for your body to forgive you. But it’s worth it, so keep it up and find distractions when you get the urge to bite.

    • I just realized I didn’t really answer your question because I focused on the nail bed. For overall healthiness they didn’t start looking healthy until they grew out to the tips of my fingers. They don’t have to be long, but when they’re shorter than the length of your finger, that’s when they look unwell. I found the strength issue wasn’t a problem. Once I left them alone they grew out nice and strong. But if you’ve been peeling them it could take a few months of growing and filing to get new growth to come in and replace the damaged nails.

  2. Also, I like your nail designs, and I’d like to follow you on Instagram but when I searched that username I couldn’t find anything. 😦 Thank you so much for your response I really appreciate it. I just stopped biting last month, and they look pretty good. Only two nails have made it over the length of my finger, but it feels so good to no longer bite!

Leave a Reply

