Collection Organization Celebration

Another lacquerista introduced me to an app called Sortly and suggested the idea of using it to catalog nail polishes. I have 664 in my collection, which I’ve logged manually in a Google Docs spreadsheet. I also blog/instagram/tweet my #notd posts when I swatch colors. The shared posts aren’t organized in a way that is easily connected to my spreadsheet, and the spreadsheet doesn’t easily support images.

Enter Sortly.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/8f6/32039778/files/2014/12/img_6111.png

Sortly is designed to operate as a database with associated images. And it imports CSV files if you already keep a spreadsheet. So I downloaded the app, formatted my document, and loaded my data. A couple days of scraping 2 years of images from my blog and BLAMMO! I’ve got an database that organizes by brand with collection, color, shade, and texture tags, and images of actual swatch photos.

In doing this I now have an easy way to see which colors I haven’t swatched yet. Which frequently means never worn. I should be able to fill the gaps now.

I did a quick count and it looks like I’m missing swatch photos for 244 polishes. Which is pretty bad. That’s 36% of my collection either unworn or worn but not swatched. My 2015 resolution is to slow down my buying and wear more of what I own. One year isn’t enough to get through all of them, but I should be able to make some good inroads.

Here’s to a better organized 2015!

About Smapte

I crochet. I crochet a lot. My speciality is amigurumi dolls based on pop culture entertainment, such as LOST, Star Trek, Mad Men and Firefly. I also crochet beanie hats with food items on them such as pancakes, sushi, burgers, spaghetti, or whatever sounds hat-worthy. Visit me at ThatThingILike.wordpress.com or Xanadoodle.wordpress.com.

Posted on December 25, 2014, in Misc and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

